Ready for an adventure with a purpose? Request info »
  • Search SEA Semester, Summer and High School Programs
SEA Currents Blog

SEA Currents: News

November 05, 2018

SEA Receives Walter Cronkite Award

Doug Karlson,

SEA Semester

Top (left to right): Ron Oswald, NMHS Board Chair; Christopher Culver, Rear Commodore, New York Yacht Club, who presented the award; SEA President Peg Brandon; SEA Board Chair Dr. Richard Cost. Below: Model Room of NYYC; Bottom (left to right): Brian Andrews, former SEA mate; Ray Ashley, W-1, President and CEO of the Maritime Museum of San Diego; Peg Brandon; Erin Bryant, SEA Asst. Professor of Ocean Policy; SEA Capt. Sean Bercaw; Craig Marin, SEA Asst. Professor of Maritime Studies. Photo by Allison Lucas.

The National Maritime Historical Society presented Sea Education Association with the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Maritime Education at an awards dinner held Thursday, Oct, 25th at the New York Yacht Club.

The Society cited SEA’s leadership as a field-based environmental education-at-sea program, noting how SEA “nurtures scholars and leaders to both appreciate the ocean and tackle the issues impacting it.”  Christopher J. Culver, Rear Commodore of the New York Yacht Club, presented the award to SEA President Peg Brandon.

More than 30 members of the SEA community attended the event, including Board Chair Dr. Richard Cost, Vice Chair Dr. Susan Humphris, Board Member Walter Brown, SEA Overseer Dr. John Cahill, W-98, Director of Development Julia Alling, Associate Dean for Academic Partnerships Mark Long, Capt. Sean Bercaw, Assistant Professor of Ocean Policy Erin Bryant, Asst. Professor of Maritime History Craig Marin, W-119, SEA Overseers Jonathan Cedar, W-179, Sarah Kettenmann, S-197, and Hal Rose, W-38, and SEA alumni Ned Greer, W-48, Arden Pickoff-Rafferty, S-248, Chris Scholz, W-14, and Janine Shissler, C-110.

Also honored at the event were Vice Admiral Peter H. Daly, USN (Ret.) CEO of the US Naval Institute, who received the Distinguished Service Award, and Dr. Timothy Runyan, chairman of the National Maritime Alliance, who received the NMHS David A. O’Neill Sheet Anchor Award.

The evening included a special video about SEA produced by Richardo and Alessandro Lopes of Voyage Digital Media, which will be available for viewing online in the not too distant future.

Categories: News, • Topics: featured  maritime history  awards • (2) Comments
Previous entry: Sayonara Mama Seamans    Next entry: S283 Commences!


#1. Posted by Peg Parker on November 06, 2018

WOW !!!  Stunning photos of everyone!  CONGRATS to ALL SEA staff and Board so dedicated to this unique and superb environmental education-at-sea program. 
How wonderful that more than 30 SEA supporters and staff could be there.

WHAT a very special and memorable evening, setting, assemblage and event!
This award is so richly deserved and proudly displayed.  I love the smiles on everyone!!!  Congrats again and again!

#2. Posted by Peg Brandon on November 07, 2018

Thanks for the kind words Peg Parker! The evening was a wonderful celebration of the hard work of SEA friends and alumni like YOU that made this honor possible!



Add a comment:

Notify me of follow-­up comments?

I would like SEA to keep me informed about news and opportunities.